Verkhovna Rada approves move to introduce state of emergency in Ukraine


The Verkhovna Rada has approved the decree of President Volodymyr Zelensky on the introduction of a state of emergency from 00:00 on February 24, 2022, across the territory of all Ukraine, except Donetsk and Luhansk regions, for a period of 30 days.


According to an Ukrinform correspondent, 335 people’s deputies backed the move.


The decree says the state of emergency is being introduced in Vinnytsia, Volyn, Dnipropetrovsk, Zhytomyr, Zakarpattia, Zaporizhia, Ivano-Frankivsk, Kyiv, Kirovohrad, Lviv, Mykolaiv, Odesa, Poltava, Rivne, Sumy, Ternopil, Kharkiv, Kherson, Kherson, Khmelnytskyi, Chernivtsi, and Chernihiv regions, as well as in the city of Kyiv.


This law shall enter into force on the day of its publication, along with the relevant decree.


A state of emergency in Ukraine may be imposed for a period not exceeding 30 days and no more than 60 days in certain localities.


If necessary, the relevant regime may be extended by President, but for no more than 30 days.


As Ukrinform reported earlier, on February 23, the National Security and Defense Council of Ukraine proposed to impose a state of emergency on the entire territory of Ukraine, except for Donetsk and Luhansk regions, because there is a separate legal regime operating there – the Joint Forces Operation. President of Ukraine Volodymyr Zelensky issued a state of emergency decree, which was to be approved by the Verkhovna Rada.


On February 21, Russian President Vladimir Putin signed decrees recognizing two self-proclaimed entities in the temporarily occupied territories of Donetsk and Luhansk regions of Ukraine. Agreements between these quasi-republics and Russia provide for military assistance.


Russia has thus openly acknowledged its military presence in certain areas of Donetsk and Luhansk regions.


© 2022 Ukrinform News


Enter comments here: