9 PACE member states called on Russia to end the militarization of Crimea, – statement

Ukraine and 8 other member states of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) called on Russia to end the blocking of the Kerch Strait and the militarization of the Crimea. This is stated in a joint statement, the text of which was announced on April 20, by the chairman of the permanent delegation of the Verkhovna Rada to PACE Maria Mezentseva, informs UATV.

The national delegations of Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Poland, Sweden, Georgia, Romania and Azerbaijan joined the statement.

“We are concerned about the increasing number of ceasefire violations by Russian groups, the growing number of casualties, and especially the constant concentration of excessive military forces near Ukrainian borders, as well as illegally annexed Crimean peninsula. All of this undermines stability and security on our continent”, the document says.

The PACE member states also called on Russia to begin de-escalating the situation.

“We are sending Russia a very clear signal that if it refuses, it will face serious consequences, in particular sanctions,” the statement said.

The Ukrainian delegation to PACE will continue to collect signatures on the document.

“In the future, it will be registered and sent to the PACE Bureau, as well as to the Committee of Ministers and the Secretary General of the Council of Europe,” Mezentseva specified.

The spring session of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe started on April 19 in Strasbourg.

(c) UATV


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.