Putin signed a law to reset his presidential terms

Russian President Vladimir Putin signed a law allowing him to remain in office until 2036.

The law prohibits holding the office of President of Russia more than two times.

In doing so, he implies that the presidential terms of people who were elected before 2020 are not counted. Thus, Putin and Dmitry Medvedev will be able to run two more times.

The norm on zeroing the terms of Putin and Medvedev was included in the package of amendments to the Constitution. These amendments were supported by a popular vote in the summer of 2020.

(C)MEDUZA 2021


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.